Herbert von Karajan: Memorial Concert

Deal Score0
Deal Score0

Product Description
A triumph of remembrance, wrote Die Welt following this stirring concert given by
the Berliner Philharmoniker under Seiji Ozawa and with Anne-Sophie Mutter as
soloist. It left its audience hovering between hushed reverence and deafening
exultation. The Golden Hall of Vienna’s Musikverein was the dazzling venue for the
live recording of this concert celebrating the 100th birthday of Herbert von Karajan.
And there Karajan s Berliner never sounded better… More >>

Herbert von Karajan: Memorial Concert

This site uses affiliate links and if you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a commission payment.

  1. This concert is everything the first reviewer said!! However, I have received 2 defective copies. Neither disc will allow me to play the Karajan bonus material which of course is essential to the disc. I have tried both discs on 2 Sony Blue Ray players- the 350 and the 550. I can only hope the manufacturer corrects the problem.
    Rating: 2 / 5

  2. When this disc came in I immediately played the Tchaikovsky 6th and found it very enjoyable. The sound is outstanding but one needs to manually select the 5.1 option each time it’s played. The stereo version seems to leave much lacking but the 5.1 version provides an exciting ride.

    The Beethoven is also well done which all together provides a fairly satisfying evening’s listening.

    I tried listening to the audio only, no picture, just to check my reaction on a comparative basis to some other recordings I have of the 6th. I have to say von Karajan’s digital surround recording of the 6th on DTS is probably more exciting but the uncompressed audio on this disc does give it a distinct audio advantage.

    I would say that anyone who enjoys a colorful performance will enjoy this one; I’m glad I’ve added it to my collection.
    Rating: 5 / 5

  3. This is my first blu-ray classical music disc and the picture is stunning.

    The performance (Orchestra, soloist and conductor) is also of the highest quality. I have two issues with this disc

    1- The sound (in stereo) is good but not in the same league with the picture and performance

    2- the bonus material about Karajan cannot be approached (as the other reviewer said)
    Rating: 4 / 5

  4. This Blu-ray is 1080i, not 1080p. It is specified in the box.

    Although the specification says 1080i, the image quality in my opinion is very good. The scenes are beautiful.

    The audio quality is very good and the performance is amazing.

    I recommend.
    Rating: 4 / 5

  5. Let the concert come to you.

    The quality of this Blu-Ray disc is impeccable. Filmed in Full HD 1080P and with a lossless 5.1 PCM or 2.0 PCM soundtrack, you may as well be a member of the audience. There is something incredibly invigorating seeing a premier orchestra in full flight, with excellent camera-work to match. The sound in the rear is more than just ambient and you truly feel surrounded.

    Don’t get me wrong – I would have killed to be in the Musikverein that evening, but this is definitely the next best thing.

    This was a truly special concert, and Anne-Sophie Mutter gives a thrilling account of the Beethoven Concerto, magnificently supported by von Karajan protegee Seiji Ozawa and the Berliners. The Tchaikovsky 6th is no less transporting.

    It is a great pity, that at time of writing this, you can count on one hand the number of Blu-Ray releases of orchestral performances – and still have a finger or two left over. I hope for more in the future, for all of us who cannot slip into the Concertgebouw, the Berlin Philharmonie or the Vienna Musikverein whenever we feel like it.

    5 stars for the picture quality

    5 stars for the photography

    5 stars for the audio quality

    5 stars for the performances

    A must-buy for Blu-Ray and Classical lovers.
    Rating: 5 / 5

Leave a reply

Register New Account
Reset Password